Refinished Furniture

Run Down Cedar Box Restored To Its Original Beauty

My Mom bought this cedar chest for $30 from a thrift shop near my hometown of Pittsfield, Illinois. She said when she saw it she knew I could do something amazing with it. I was in Sweden when I saw the pictures of it and I couldn’t wait to get back to America and start transforming this beauty into the gorgeous piece I knew it could be. 

Picture

I have never spent more time on a project then I had on this one. I started sanding and quickly realized there was a wood veneer over the entire cedar chest. 

Picture

 
So after countless hours of chipping and sanding I was ready to stain. In my mind I had this amazing picture for how this would turn out…..

Picture

 

Picture

 
So I started slowly chipping away a couple of hours at a time. (While my daughter was napping) It was horrible. I took a few chunks out of it here and there, but that was unavoidable. 

Picture

 
It didn’t turn out like I imagined at all. In fact it was just straight ugly and I hated even looking at it. 

Picture

 

Picture

 
I discovered a beautiful design under all the black paint. I could not believe that anyone would cover this amazing design up!

Picture

 
So I started sanding…. Again. Sanding stain off is much more time-consuming than sanding paint. It Sucked. 

Picture

So I finally got it all sanded back down, again. I love the color of cedar and decided I would keep the cedar its regular reddish color. I had some Martha Stewart specialty paint that I got a couple of years ago on a huge sale, it is brown with gold specs and beautiful. I knew it would compliment the cedar perfectly.

Picture

 
I put three coats of Shellac over the entire cedar chest to really bring out the color of the cedar and make the gold specs in the brown really shine. 

Picture

 
I added a handle to the lid because every time I closed it it would slam shut and almost smash my fingers.

Picture

 
It was the perfect finishing touch.
Leave a Reply

